Muse to the Rescue

Posted on March 6, 2012. Filed under: General Interest, Humor | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

Greek mythology.  If you went to high school, you know about all those ancient Greeks and their gods and goddesses.  They had one for everything.  Should something new come up that they had no god/goddess for, just get a couple of them together in a procreative way and, BOOM, you got tailor-made divinity (the Mount Olympus kind, not the candy).

Case in point:  Zeus, king of the gods, and Mnemosyne, goddess of memory.  Some of the arts needed a little regal backup, so out pops — not one, not two, but — NINE little misses…  uh, muses.  Here, count ’em for yourself:  Calliope, Clio, Erato, Euterpe, Melpomene, Polyhymnia, Terpsichore, Thalia, and Urania.  For your own safety, just count them, don’t try to pronounce them.  In order of appearance, their specialties are:  epic poetry, history, love poetry, lyric poetry, tragedy, sacred song, dance, comedy, and astronomy.  Hmmm.  Star gazing is one of the arts?  Maybe Urania was the one disappointment in the litter.  Hey, it can happen in any family.

Quit looking around on those navigation charts, and pay attention here.  You were warned about my lack of navigation skills and a tendency to digress in my first two posts not more than a month ago.  You’ve already booked passage, so suck it up, me bucko!

Situation here is I’ve run aground just short of Inspiration Point, and, I thought maybe one of those divine chicks might put a big boot in my, uh, CPU and get me on course.  Three of those girls are into poetry, one is a dancer, and yet another is a gospel singer;  I’m just not feeling it.  Since I’m stuck in NOW, the history major won’t work, either.  Tragedy?  Now, there you got your big downer, and I’m already at a low point.  Comedy is a frame of mind, and we previously established that I don’t have that…   the frame part.  Star gazing involves all those charts, and, we don’t really want to go there, do we?  0 for 9.  Now what?  A lot more work for SID (i.e., Ship’s Inane Digressor)?

Next:  We will get through this.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

29 Responses to “Muse to the Rescue”

RSS Feed for WORDS according to Dean Comments RSS Feed

Regards for sharing the information with us.

Very interesting subject , appreciate it for posting .

Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent job!

After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service? Kudos!

I’m looking into that, Maryrose, but you see how long it took me to find this section on my dashboard.

Excellent article! We will be linking to this great article on our site. Keep up the good writing.

Hi! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and web and this is really irritating. A good site with exciting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this web-site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

No newsletters at this time. Sorry.

Hello I actually feel you actually have got a fantastic weblog going here, I found it on Yahoo and plan on revisiting regularly for the knowledge that you all are featuring.|Thanks a lot for making my evening a bit bit much better with this excellent article!nice post!

Do you have an option to subscribe to your blog?? I would love to get updated with future posts.

Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this website truly stands out : D.

Real instructive and fantastic bodily structure of content , now that’s user friendly (:.

I enjoy your writing style really loving this web site .

An interesting subject is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it’s great to see other peoples thoughts!

Yay google is my king aided me to find this great web site ! .

Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

I am always get excited whenever I received a RSS coming from your blog, seems like another chapter has been written in your blog

I think this website holds very excellent pent content material articles .

Awesome post! Found you while searching Yahoo and glad that I did.

I love your writing style truly enjoying this website .

I genuinely enjoy looking through on this internet site , it has fantastic content .

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

I got what you intend, thankyou for posting .Woh I am pleased to find this website through google.

You got a very wonderful website, Gladiolus I discovered it through yahoo.

Informative read as well as the subject matter was good. Thank you for creating this piece! I will be back for additional!

Thank you for your article post.Thanks Again. Want more.

Great post. Thanks for the read.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

