Passion: The Intervention

Posted on March 4, 2012. Filed under: General Interest, language | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

C’mon!  Get outta here!!  PCs got passion?  Sneakers got passion?  If you doubt that, pay attention to those television ads.

The “how to” guide I read that introduced me to this blogging thing makes the innocent observation up front that, at some point, I must get passionate about this pursuit if I wish to be “successful” at it.  Fair enough, I can concur with that usage, but, the author almost lost me a few paragraphs later when, in lieu of the word interests, he plugged in passions — repeatedly.  Within the context of that author’s point, I — like the cheetah — would have “checked out all the interesting choices, made a selection, then broke into an all-out passionate sprint toward the goal.”  Actually, had I written the manual, the words passion and passionate would not have appeared at all.  There are too many other words available without resorting to perfunctory HYPERBOLE.  The use of passion here is way overstating the effort.

Passion, it seems, is perceived as being a mere synonym of interest, but, passion is not a synonym for anything.  Using it as such says, “Look, everybody, I’m ignorant but Bertrand Russell used the word wrong decades ago, and he is a Great Learned one, so it must be a refined word, and, by using it indiscriminately myself, maybe you will mistake me for a Great Learned Refined Person.”  Maybe that sounds a bit mean-spirited, but, I just get riled up over this repeating-by-rote-because-it-sounds-refined thing.  And, it’s not my fault either, because PBS is the one that sensitized  me to it.

Passion is not a choice.  It is an imposed condition, a restless beast caged within, responding only to the command of its master, the mysterious Psyche.  We do not schedule its release, it is just suddenly there like a lightning-torched forest fire, and we succumb to its power, either in anguish or mindless exhilaration, so long as it rages.

How about it, writers and speakers?  Let’s get Passion off that street corner, pandering that which defines it to every trite expression that walks by and every product or service looking to really appear relevant.  Have you no sense of shame?  (I shouldn’t have asked that question; I know the answer.)

Next up:  I dunno.  It’s a new week, I’ll think up something.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

41 Responses to “Passion: The Intervention”

RSS Feed for WORDS according to Dean Comments RSS Feed

Thanks for offering up this article to readers everywhere. It’s good information with a lot of hutzpah. You pack a great punch with your views.

Your blog is way too fantastic too read.

Can I just let you know what a relief to find someone who actually knows what they’re talking about on the internet. You seem to know how to bring an issue up and make it understood. More peeps should read your post & get this stuff.

How many times have you read posts from these people whining about minor stuff they did not like or falling over themselves thanking a brand for providing that “special” service? I still gag every time I see mention of one mighty ego who got a steak delivered to the airport for free!

This is a topic that’s near to my heart… Best wishes! Where are your contact details though?

Keep working ,terrific job!

Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?|

I value the blog post.Really anticipating reading more. Really good.

Keep functioning ,splendid job!

I like this blog its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google .

what i wanted to say is i really need some rest and that this blog is starting to sound good

I gotta favorite this website it seems very helpful invaluable

Go on write more, i like it!

After study just a few of the blog posts in your web site now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website checklist and can be checking again soon. Pls take a look at my web site as properly and let me know what you think.

Intriguing read and the issue was good. Thank you with regard to creating this blog! I will be actually back with regard to more!

I believe you have observed some very interesting points , thanks for the post.

Regards for this rattling post, I am glad I observed this internet site on yahoo.

Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a great site.

This is first post today that i have to say its really good.

As soon as I noticed this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

I have been checking out a few of your stories and it’s pretty nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your website.

Keep up the fantastic piece of work, I read few articles on this web site and I think that your site is rattling interesting and holds sets of great information.

I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for putting up.

I enjoy your site. Will have to come more regularly.

Show me more, it was nice to read this.

I reckon something genuinely interesting about your site so I saved to bookmarks .

I am not real superb with English but I get hold this real leisurely to read.

I am not really good with English but I get hold this real leisurely to translate.

Some really choice content on this internet site , saved to favorites .

I like this site so much, saved to bookmarks .

I enjoy your site. Will have to visit more often.

Wow! Thank you! I permanently needed to write on my website something like that. Can I implement a part of your post to my site?

Sweet web site , super pattern , real clean and apply pleasant.

I like this web site it’s a master piece! Glad I observed this on google.

We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting information in your blog. From the volume of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the great work.

so much excellent information on here, : D.

I have to admit that your blog is truly interesting. I have spent a lot of my free time reading your content. Thank you a lot!

I was reading some of your articles on this internet site and I think this internet site is real informative! Keep on putting up.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

